Organization and Membership


GNRC is governed by a Regional council comprised of city mayors, county mayors/ executives, state legislators, appointments representing business/industry, and appointments representing minority populations. The Council membership is defined by state legislation. Each member is a shared owner in the organization and is responsible for ensuring the financial health and performance of the agency. Members of the Council typically meet every other month on the third Wednesday. Meeting dates and agenda are posted online at

The duties of the Regional Council include guiding the development of an annual work program and budget, assessing the effectiveness of membership dues and setting rates, and approving contracts and other agreements when necessary.

Board of Directors

The 13‐member Board of Directors is responsible for reviewing and approving regular financial reports, organizational policies related to public records, nondiscrimination, employment practices, procurement, and other matters important to maintaining compliance with state and federal laws and regulations. Additional responsibilities of the board related to the appointment of the executive director are outlined in the bylaws. Board of Directors membership consists of Council officers and one representative from each county of the region not represented by one of the officers.

Regional Council Officers

  • Chair - Mayor Bob Rial, Dickson County 
  • Vice Chair - Mayor Joe Pitts, City of Clarksville
  • Treasurer -  Mayor Kerry McCarver, Cheatham County  
  • Immediate Past President - Mayor Paige Brown, City of Gallatin
  • Secretary - Michael Skipper, GNRC Executive Director 


GNRC is owned by and operated on behalf of its local government membership comprised of county governments in the counties of Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson, Tennessee, and all incorporated municipalities and metropolitan governments located within these counties.

CHEATHAMAshland City, Kingston Springs, Pegram, Pleasant View
DAVIDSONBelle Meade, Berry Hill, Forest Hills, Nashville, Oak Hill, Goodlettsville
DICKSONBurns, Charlotte, Dickson, Slayden, Vanleer, White Bluff
HOUSTONErin, Tennessee Ridge
HUMPHREYSMcEwen, New Johnsonville, Waverly
ROBERTSONAdams, Cedar Hill, Coopertown, Cross Plains, Greenbrier, Orlinda, Ridgetop, Springfield
RUTHERFORDEagleville, LaVergne, Murfreesboro, Smyrna
STEWARTCumberland City, Dover
SUMNERGallatin, Goodlettsville, Hendersonville, Millersville, Mitchellville, Portland, Westmoreland, White House
WILLIAMSONBrentwood, Fairview, Franklin, Nolensville, Thompson Station
Lebanon, Mt. Juliet, Watertown